top of page

2023 Marilyn Yates Prize for academic excellence

Congratulations are extended to Alley Hubbard who was awarded the 2023 Marilyn Yates Prize for academic excellence. The prize was presented to Alley by HEIAWA life-member Marilyn Yates at the Edith Cowan University (ECU) Prize giving ceremony, which was held at the Mount Lawley campus on Saturday 4th February, 2024. This prize, donated by HEIAWA, recognises the student who completes the Bachelor of Education (Home Economics) qualification with the highest academic score across the four years of the course.

Alley has been appointed to a full-time position at Warwick SHS. Each prize winner at the ECU ceremony is required to write a short paragraph about their experiences throughout their time at University. Below is the statement written by Elley, which was read at the event.

I had an amazing experience as a student at Edith Cowan University over the past 4 years. ECU has provided me with the knowledge and skills that will assist me to be the best educator that I can be. I would like to say a special thanks to Sandy Smith, who has always been such a positive role model and continually provides me with encouragement and support. I am beyond grateful to receive this award. I will miss my time at ECU, and I look forward to experiencing life as a qualified Home Economics teacher, passing on the knowledge and skills that I have been very lucky to receive.

Lyn Dymond


President 2023




Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page